Venezuela is found on the northern coastline of South America. The country shares borders with the Caribbean Sea to the north, Colombia to the west, Brazil to the south, and Guyana to the east. Most of Venezuela’s population is concentrated near the coast. The country also consists of seventy-two islands.

Quick Facts

Population: 31.689 million
Ethnic Groups: Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Arab, German, African, Indigenous people
Languages: Spanish (Official), Indigenous dialects
Religions: Roman Catholic (96%), Protestant (2%), Other (2%)
Capital: Caracas
CIA: The World Factbook — Last Updated December 26, 2019

Venezuelans in Canada

Venezuelan Population in Canada


Useful Links

Venezuela achieved independence in 1830. This was followed by dictatorships and revolutions. Democracy was established in 1958, but a political coup in 1998 has had Venezuelans living with “21st Century socialism” since. The Venezuelan economy depends largely on oil prices as one of the world’s largest oil producers. The constitution guarantees religious freedom. The majority of Venezuelans identify as Catholic. Caracas, which is the capital city of Venezuela, is home to Protestant and Jewish communities. Native tribes in other areas of the country practice indigenous beliefs.