Located in eastern Africa, Uganda shares borders with Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, DR Congo, and South Sudan. Uganda is known as the “Pearl of Africa”.

Quick Facts

Population: 40.853 million
Ethnic Groups: Baganda (16.5%), Banyankole (9.6%), Basoga (8.8%), Bakiga (7.1%), Iteso (7%), Langi (6.3%), Bagisu (4.6%), Acholi (4.4%), Lugbara (3.3%), Other (32.1%)
Languages: English (Official), Luganda, Niger-Congo languages, Nilo-Saharan languages, Swahili, Arabic
Religions: Protestant (45.1%), Roman Catholic (39.3%), Muslim (13.7%), Other (1.6%), None (0.2%)
Capital: Kampala
CIA: The World Factbook — Last Updated December 26, 2019

Ugandans in Canada

Ugandan Population in Canada


Useful Links

Ugandan history is characterized by political unrest and instability. Much of this ended in 1986 when President Museveni gained power. Since then, a lot has been done to restore economic and political stability. Uganda is still working hard to recover from the devastation of previous regimes. Disease and poverty continue to be widespread, but great efforts are being made to reduce both. Under previous regimes, Christians were persecuted. Today, there is freedom of religion. The majority Christian population is evenly divided between Catholics and Protestants. Uganda is also home to a Muslim population and people who practice indigenous beliefs.