Tanzania is located on the eastern coast of the African continent. Tanzania borders the Indian Ocean to the east; Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, and Burundi to the south; and Zambia, Malawi, and Mozambique to the south. Its proximity to the equator means that Tanzania’s climate is mostly tropical.

Quick Facts

Population: 55.451 million
Ethnic Groups:

  • Mainland: African (99% – Bantu (95%), 130 tribes), Others (1% – Asian, European, and Arab)
  • Zanzibar: Arab, Native African, mixed Arab and African

Languages: Kiswahili (Official), Kiunguju, English (Official), Arabic, Local Languages
Religions: Mainland: Christian (61.4%), Muslim (35.2%), Folk Religion (1.8%), Other (0.2%0, Unaffiliated (1.4%); Zanzibar: Almost entirely Muslim
Capital: Dar Es Salaam
CIA: The World Factbook — Last Updated December 26, 2019

Tanzanians in Canada

Tanzanian Population in Canada


Useful Links

Tanganyika and Zanzibar united to form Tanzania in 1964. It was ruled by one party until multiparty democracy arrived in 1992. Today, living conditions are difficult and there is a great deal of poverty, as Tanzania is struggling to progress from its socialist past. There are reasons for optimism, however, as Tanzania contains mineral deposits and has a large tourism industry. Tanzanians have religious freedom. The large Christian and Muslim populations are very active, but live in harmony. While the country is approximately equally split between Christians and Muslims, Zanzibar is almost completely Muslim. There is also a large number of Tanzanians who subscribe to indigenous beliefs.