Slovakia is placed in central Europe. The country shares borders with Poland, Ukraine, Hungary, Austria, and the Czech Republic. In 1993, Czechoslovakia peacefully parted ways to form what is now known as Slovakia and the Czech Republic.

Quick Facts

Population: 5.445 million
Ethnic Groups: Slovak (80.7%), Hungarian (8.5%), Romani (2%), Other and Unspecified (8.8%)
Languages: Slovak (Official) (78.6%), Hungarian (9.4%), Roma (2.3%), Ruthenian (1%), Other or Unspecified (8.8%)
Religions: Roman Catholic (62%), Protestant (8.2%), Greek Catholic (3.8%), Other or Unspecified (12.5%), None (13.4%)
Capital: Bratislava
CIA: The World Factbook — Last Updated December 27, 2019

Slovakians in Canada

Slovakian Population in Canada


Useful Links

Despite being occupied by various empires and Nazi Germany, Slovak national pride helped maintain a unique language and culture to this day. Since Czechoslovakia split into Slovakia and Czech Republic in a peaceful settlement in 1993 which is known as the “Velvet Divorce”, Slovakia has successfully developed into a nation with a flourishing economy. Post-Communism privatization and foreign investment were both very helpful. Slovakia has a strong Christian heritage, and is a more religious society than the Czech Republic. Religious activity and private religious schools were banned under Communism, but the churches and religious schools made a comeback when Communism fell. Today, there is freedom of religion. With such a large Roman Catholic population, it is unsurprising that most Slovaks celebrate Catholic holidays and mark major life events (birth, marriage, and death) according to Catholic traditions.