Located in southeast Africa, Malawi borders Mozambique to the east and south, Zambia to the west, and Tanzania to the north. Malawi has a sizeable coastline despite being landlocked; Lake Malawi covers about one-fifth of Malawi’s area.

Quick Facts

Population: 19.843 million
Ethnic Groups: Chewa (34.3%), Lomwe (18.8%), Yao (13.2%), Ngoni (10.4%), Tumbuka (9.2%), Sena (3.8%), Mang’anja (3.2%), Tonga (1.8%), Nyanja (1.1%), Nkhonde (1.0%), Other (2.2%), Foreign (0.3%)
Languages: English (Official), Chichewa (Official) (57.2%), Chinyanja (12.8%), Chiyao (10.1%), Chitumbuka (9.5%), Chisena (2.7%), Chilomwe (2.4%), Chitonga (1.7%), Others (3.6%)
Religions: Protestant (33.5%), Roman Catholic (17.2%), Other Christian (26.6%), Muslim (13.8%), Traditionalist (1.1%), Other (5.6%), None (2.1%)
Capital: Lilongwe
CIA: The World Factbook — Last Updated December 27, 2019

Useful Links

Malawi was a dictatorship for thirty years following its independence, but multiparty elections were held in 1994. Recent elections have been peaceful, and Malawi today enjoys peace and political stability. Nevertheless, Malawi continues to face economic and social challenges. Freedom of religion exists in Malawi. Christians, Muslims, and adherents to other religions co-exist peacefully. Most Malawians identify as Christian. There are also Malawians who adhere to traditional beliefs and indigenous religions, which involve the veneration of ancestors and belief in a supreme being.