Guyana is situated in the northeastern corner of South America and shares land borders with Venezuela, Brazil, and Suriname. Because it has a coastline on the Atlantic Ocean and its climate is moderated by the trade winds off the Atlantic, the temperature in Guyana rarely falls out of the 21 to 32 degrees Celsius range.

Quick Facts

Population: 740,685
Ethnic Groups: East Indian (39.8%), Black (29.3%), Mixed (19.9%), Amerindian (10.5%), Other (0.5%)
Languages: English (Official), Guyanese Creole, Amerindian languages (including Caribbean and Arawak languages), Indian languages (including Caribbean Hindustani, a dialect of Hindi), Chinese
Religions: Protestant (34.8%), Hindu (24.8%), Roman Catholic (7.1%), Muslim (6.8%), Jehovah’s Witness (1.3%), Rastafarian (0.5%), other Christian (20.8%), Other (0.9%), None (3.1%)
Capital: Georgetown
CIA: The World Factbook — Last Updated December 29, 2019

Guyanese in Canada

Guyanese Population in Canada


Useful Links

Guyana became independent from Britain in 1966 (it was also ruled by the Dutch between 1750 and 1814). There is significant racial tension and the political sphere is divided along racial lines. The Guyanese have enjoyed full religious freedoms since 1985. The religious make-up of Guyana is complex. The Afro-Guyanese are mostly Christian, while the Indo-Guyanese are mostly Hindu. The Indo-Guyanese population also includes many Muslims. Meanwhile, some of the Guyanese practice traditional African beliefs, including “winti”, a polytheistic religion.