Ethiopia is found in eastern Africa, in the area known as ‘the Horn of Africa’. Ethiopia shares borders with Sudan, Kenya, Somalia, Djibouti, and Eritrea.

Quick Facts

Population: 108.386 million
Ethnic Groups: Oromo (34.5%), Amhara (27%), Somali (6.2%), Tigray (6.1%), Sidama (4%), Gurage (2.5%), Welaita (2.3%), Hadiya (1.7%), Afar (1.7%), Gamo (1.5%,) Gedeo (1.3%), Silte (1.3%), Kefficho (1.2%), Other (8.8%)
Languages: Oromo (Official Regional) (33.8%), Amharic (Official) (29.3%), Somali (6.2%), Tigrayan (Official Regional) (5.9%), Sidamo (4%), Wolaytta (2.2%), Guragiegna (2%), Afar (1.7%), Hadiyya (1.7%), Gamo (1.5%), Gedeo (1.3%), Opuuo (1.2%), Kafa (1.1%), Other (8.1%), English (major foreign language taught in schools), Arabic
Religions: Ethiopian Orthodox (43.5%), Muslim (33.9%), Protestant (18.5%), Traditional (2.7%), Catholic (0.7%), Other (0.6%)
Capital: Addis Ababa
CIA: The World Factbook — Last Updated December 29, 2019

Ethiopians in Canada

Ethiopian Population in Canada


Useful Links

As the oldest independent country in Africa, Ethiopia served an important role for African independence during the colonial period. Christianity has a long history in Ethiopia. It was introduced in the fourth century and was the state religion from 1270 until the Marxist revolution in 1974. Churches, especially evangelical churches, were severely persecuted under the communist regime. However, when the Marxist regime collapsed in 1991, Ethiopia regained its religious freedom. Today, there are over 80 different religions being practiced in Ethiopia. The main three categories of religion in Ethiopia are Christianity, Islam, and indigenous religions.