Congo (DR)

Congo (DR)

The Democratic Republic of the Congo is located in central Africa. It is the third-largest country in the African continent. The equator passes right through Congo-DRC and in this part of the country, the temperature does not drop below 20 degrees Celsius.

Quick Facts

Population: 85.281 million
Ethnic Groups: Over 200 African ethnic groups; Four Largest Tribes – Mongo, Luba, Kongo (all Bantu), and the Mangbetu-Azande (Hamitic) (45%)
Languages: French (Official), Lingala, Kingwana, Kikongo, Tshiluba
Religions: Roman Catholic (50%), Protestant (20%), Kimbanguist (10%), Muslim (10%), Other (10%)
Capital: Kinshasa
CIA: The World Factbook — Last Updated December 29, 2019

Congolese in Canada

Congolese Population in Canada


Useful Links

Congo-DRC, formerly Zaire, is home to nearly 250 ethnolinguistic groups and numerous sub-groups. In 1972, President Mobutu (who gained power as a result of a military coup in 1965) decreed that only six organized religions were allowed to operate and own property, but there has been religious freedom since 1980. Today, the majority of the population identifies as Christian, but traditional beliefs are also prevalent. According to these traditional beliefs, life never ends (for example, people may offer ancestors a drink by pouring beer onto the ground.) These traditional animistic beliefs also hold that even inanimate objects have life and deserve respect.