Bulgaria is part of the Balkan Penninsula in Southeastern Europe. Bulgaria is surrounded by Romania, Turkey, Greece, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Serbia, and Montenegro (formerly part of Yugoslavia). Its eastern coastline is on the Black Sea and it has a number of beach resorts there, which boosts tourism to the country.

Quick Facts

Population: 7.058 million
Ethnic Groups: Bulgarian (76.9%), Turkish (8%), Romani (4.4%), Other (Russian, Armenian, and Vlach) (10%), Other (Unknown) (10%)
Languages: Bulgarian (Official) (76.8%), Turkish (8.2%), Romani (3.8%), Other (0.7%), Unspecified (10.5%)
Religions: Eastern Orthodox (59.4%), Muslim (7.8%), Other (1.7%), None (3.7%), Unspecified (27.4%)
Capital: Sofia
CIA: The World Factbook — Last Updated December 29, 2019

Bulgarians in Canada

Bulgarian Population in Canada



Useful Links

Bulgaria adopted Christianity in the year 865, and Orthodoxy was the state religion until 1945.  Bulgaria came under Communist rule in 1947, and the Communists persecuted  Christians until 1989. Multiparty democracy was instituted in 1990, and since then atheism has declined and there was an increase in the Christian population.  Although Bulgaria today is not a very religious country, most Bulgarians belong to the Orthodox Church and both Christmas and Easter are official holidays.