Czech Republic

Czech Republic

The Czech Republic (Czechia) is located in central Europe. It shares borders with Germany, Poland, Austria, and Slovakia. Previously known as Czechoslovakia, the Czech Republic and Slovakia parted ways peacefully in 1993. The country added the short-form name Czechia in 2016, while continuing to use the full form name, Czech Republic.

Quick Facts

Population: 10.686 million
Ethnic Groups: Czech (64.3%), Moravian (5%), Slovak (1.4%), Other (1.8%), Unspecified (27.5%)
Languages: Czech (95.4%), Slovak (1.6%), Other (3%)
Religions: Roman Catholic (10.4%), Protestant (1.1%), Other and Unspecified (54%), None (34.5%)
Capital: Prague
CIA: The World Factbook — Last Updated December 29, 2019

Czechs in Canada

Czechs Population in Canada


Useful Links

The communist government stepped down in 1989, and the government elected in 1990 advocated for free-market reforms and privatization. These policies were more popular in the Czech Republic than in the Slovak Republic, so Czechoslovakia peacefully divorced in 1993. Today, the Czech Republic is one of central Europe’s most developed economies, and it has been a member of the European Union since 2004. Christians previously suffered under a Communist regime, but there is freedom of religion in the Czech Republic. Still, much of the population is atheist. Religious influence is fading in the Czech society, which has not been particularly religious for hundreds of years. The Catholic Church in the Czech Republic is stronger than any Protestant denomination.